The best AI pet grooming software in 2026 is the platform whose AI answers your phone and books, not the one with the most automation. Groomify, our product, is the pick for groomers who want calls, the calendar and marketing handled by AI, from $39 a month per van plus a receptionist add-on from $109. Talopet bundles AI minutes into its $199 plan. MoeGo, Gingr and DaySmart Pet automate reminders and scheduling but list no AI receptionist on their own sites.
What changed this month: first edition. Every AI claim below was checked on each vendor's own site on October 28, 2026; a third-party article naming a MoeGo AI receptionist could not be confirmed on moego.pet, so it is not credited. FetchDesk AI and Teddy are not listed because neither has a readable public site with pricing.
Prices last checked October 28, 2026. Competitor prices are read from each vendor's own pricing page on that date and are monthly list prices before tax. How we compare.
Automated text and email reminders, automatic review requests
$29/mo
with DaySmart Payments, $39 without; 1 user
14 days, no card
Groomer.io
Grooming platform
None
Automated confirmation calls and texts; no AI named
$79/mo
per storefront or van
Not stated
Monthly list prices before tax from each vendor's pricing page on October 28, 2026. "AI receptionist" means the vendor's own site says its software answers inbound calls and books; automated reminders and review requests do not count. GrooMore, Pawfinity and PetExec are covered in the main roundup and list no AI, so they are not repeated here.
What counts as AI in grooming software
Most grooming platforms now put the word smart somewhere on the page, so this list draws one line. Automation runs a rule you wrote: a reminder goes out two days before, a review request after pickup, a waitlisted client is offered a cancelled slot. AI handles something you did not script: a caller asks what a full groom on a 70-pound Doodle costs and whether Tuesday at 10 is free, and the software answers in a natural voice, quotes your menu, books the slot and texts the confirmation. Automation saves clicks. AI saves the booking that would otherwise have gone to voicemail while your hands were in the tub.
By that line, two grooming platforms on this list have AI on their own sites, Groomify and Talopet, and two standalone receptionists can be bolted onto anything, AgentZap and My AI Front Desk. MoeGo, Gingr, DaySmart Pet and Groomer.io automate well and converse not at all. If a vendor tells you otherwise, ask for a recorded call before you sign.
Each product in detail
1. Groomify: Best for groomers who want the phone, the calendar and the marketing handled by AI
Groomify is our product: grooming, boarding and daycare software with eight AI agents. The AI receptionist answers calls in a natural voice, quotes your menu, books into the calendar and hands off to a person with a summary; the booking chatbot does the same on your website. AI scheduling fills gaps, the CRM suggests the breed from a photo, the marketing agent drafts posts and review replies, and the insights agent forecasts revenue.
Pricing. Plans start at $39 a month per van or $63 per location, with the AI agents other than the receptionist included on Growth and up through monthly AI credits. The AI receptionist is an add-on at $109 a month for 150 minutes ($0.85 a minute after), $295 for 450 minutes or $899 for 1,500, with a $499 one-time setup fee waived on the Professional plan with a 6-month term, all 12 languages and one business number included. Live handoff is $2.50 a call.
Pros
The receptionist books straight into the grooming calendar, no Zapier or middle layer
Eight agents on one client and pet record, not a bolt-on
14-day trial with the receptionist testable in a chat
Cons
The receptionist is an add-on on top of the platform price
Launched in 2026, so there are few public reviews yet
Phone minutes are capped per tier; a busy salon should size the tier first
Who should skip it. Skip it if you are happy with your current grooming software and only want a phone answered: a standalone receptionist is cheaper to bolt on.
2. Talopet: Platform with a built-in AI receptionist on its mid and top plans
Talopet is an all-in-one platform for grooming, daycare and boarding with scheduling, online booking, payments, staff, marketing, a website and a mobile app. Its AI receptionist, Talo, answers calls around the clock, books appointments, quotes services and texts confirmations, and the site describes it as bilingual. AI marketing campaigns fire on events such as a pet's birthday or a lapsed client.
Pricing. Starter is $99 a month with no AI minutes, Growth $199 with 100 AI receptionist minutes and Professional $299 with 200 minutes; Enterprise is a negotiated flat rate (talopet.com/pricing). Minutes count only on an active call and overage is billed per minute at a rate the page does not state. Two-way texting is unlimited on every plan, the first month is free and there is no setup fee.
Pros
AI receptionist minutes bundled into the plan price
Unlimited two-way texting and no setup fee
Grooming, daycare and boarding on one platform
Cons
100 minutes a month on the $199 plan is a small allowance for a salon phone
Overage rate not published
No per-van pricing for mobile groomers
Who should skip it. Skip it if you run vans: there is no per-van plan and no route planning on the site.
3. AgentZap: Standalone AI receptionist built for pet businesses; it powers Groomify's add-on
AgentZap is an AI receptionist for pet businesses that answers, quotes, books and hands off to a person, with a pet grooming industry page and a managed tier where its team runs the setup. It is the engine behind Groomify's receptionist add-on, so the two share features; AgentZap is the choice when you want to keep your current grooming software and add a phone agent.
Pricing. Starter is $109 a month for 150 minutes ($0.85 a minute after), Professional $295 for 450 ($0.75) and Business $899 for 1,500 ($0.70); a Managed plan is $899 with setup included on a 6-month term, and Enterprise is custom (agentzap.ai/pricing). Setup is a one-time $499, waived on the Professional plan with a 6-month term; annual billing gives two months free. Porting an existing number is free.
Pros
Built for pet businesses, with grooming vocabulary and workflows
Works alongside whatever grooming software you already use
Managed option for owners who do not want to configure anything
Cons
Separate subscription on top of your grooming software
$499 setup unless you take Professional on a 6-month term
Bookings land in your calendar through an integration, not natively, unless you use Groomify
Who should skip it. Skip it if you want one bill and one login: the same engine runs inside Groomify on the same terms, with bookings landing in the grooming calendar natively.
4. My AI Front Desk: Cheapest general-purpose AI receptionist; not pet-specific
My AI Front Desk is a general AI phone receptionist sold to any small business. It answers, takes messages, texts and connects to calendars, CRMs and thousands of apps through Zapier, which is how a grooming calendar would get its bookings.
Pricing. Business-in-a-Box is $99 a month, or $79 a month billed annually, with 200 voice minutes and overage at 25 credits (about $0.25) a minute; Partner and Enterprise plans are custom with overage as low as $0.07 a minute (myaifrontdesk.com/pricing). There is a 7-day free trial. The page does not list a setup fee or any pet grooming integration.
Pros
Lowest monthly price for 200 minutes on this list
7-day trial and annual discount
Connects to most calendars through Zapier
Cons
Nothing pet-specific: no breed, service or duration logic out of the box
Booking depends on a Zapier chain you build and maintain
No pet industry page or grooming customers cited
Who should skip it. Skip it if you want the agent to know what a full groom on a Doodle costs and takes: you would be teaching it from scratch.
5. MoeGo: The most used grooming platform; strong automation, no AI receptionist
MoeGo is the most widely used grooming software, with a deep mobile toolkit, online booking, two-way texting, payments and Reserve with Google. Its site names Smart Schedule ("fill gaps and prevent overbooking with smart, automated scheduling"), Automated Workflow for marketing, a Review Booster and automated grooming reports. None of these is described as AI, and no AI receptionist or phone answering appears on moego.pet.
Pricing. Basic is $49 a month with 200 texts a van, Growth $99 a van with 900 texts and Ultimate $159 a van with unlimited automated messages; Enterprise is custom (moego.pet/pricing). No trial length is stated. A MoeGo user who wants the phone answered adds a standalone receptionist such as AgentZap or My AI Front Desk on top.
Pros
The largest user base and the most mature mobile features
Automated scheduling, reminders and review requests on every plan
Priced per van, not per user
Cons
No AI receptionist, chatbot or call handling on its site
Automation follows rules; it does not hold a conversation
200 texts a month on Basic
Who should skip it. Skip it if missed calls are the problem you are solving: you will be buying a second product to fix it.
6. Gingr: Boarding-first platform with automation but no AI
Gingr is boarding and daycare software first, with a grooming plan (Spa), a customer portal, online booking and deep facility reporting. Its site speaks of calendars that "fill themselves" and automatic pre-check rules, but the word AI does not appear and there is no receptionist, chatbot or call handling.
Pricing. Spa is $109 a month ($100 annual), Play $169 ($142) and Stay $179 with Gingr's integrated payments or $209 without ($154 annual); Enterprise is custom (gingrapp.com/pricing). Two-way SMS is a paid add-on, and there is no free trial, only a demo.
Pros
The deepest boarding and daycare features on this list
Plans split by grooming, daycare and boarding
Customer portal and online booking included
Cons
No AI of any kind on its site
Texting sold separately
No self-serve trial
Who should skip it. Skip it if you are buying for the AI: it is a facility system, and a good one, with none.
7. DaySmart Pet: Lowest entry price; automation only
DaySmart Pet is the pet edition of a multi-industry scheduling product. It covers appointments, online booking, texting, payments and reports, with automated reminders and automatic review requests. Its site does not use the word AI and lists no receptionist, chatbot or call handling.
Pricing. Basic is $29 a month with DaySmart Payments or $39 without, for one user, 500 texts and 1,000 emails; Deluxe $69 or $89 for three users; Premium $199 or $219 for six (daysmart.com/pet/pricing). Two-way texting and text marketing are add-ons priced on request. The 14-day trial needs no card.
Pros
Cheapest published starting price
Reminders and review requests automated on every plan
14-day trial without a card
Cons
No AI on its site
Plans limited by user count
Generalist product with thinner pet-specific depth
Who should skip it. Skip it if you have staff or vans: the user tiers and missing route tools work against you, and there is no AI to make up for it.
8. Groomer.io: Flat-price grooming software with automated calls, but no AI answering
Groomer.io is grooming-only software for vans and single salons with online booking, unlimited two-way texting, marketing, reports and automated outbound confirmation calls and texts. The automation calls your clients; nothing on the site answers the calls coming in, and AI is not mentioned.
Pricing. The landing page lists $79 a month per storefront or van, a $99 a month price it does not label, and a grooming website for $79 a month more (get.groomer.io; the pricing link returns to the same page). No trial length is stated.
Pros
Unlimited two-way texting at a flat price
Automated confirmation calls included
Priced per van or storefront
Cons
Outbound automation only; inbound calls still ring to you
Thin published pricing
No boarding, daycare or AI
Who should skip it. Skip it if you want inbound calls handled: pair it with a standalone receptionist or look at a platform that includes one.
How to choose AI grooming software
Decide platform or bolt-on first. If you like your grooming software, a standalone receptionist (AgentZap, My AI Front Desk) adds the phone for $99 to $109 a month and leaves everything else alone. If you are choosing software anyway, a platform with the receptionist inside (Groomify, Talopet) books natively and gives you one bill and one client record.
Count minutes, not features. Grooming calls run two to four minutes. Multiply your monthly inbound calls by three and buy that tier: 150 minutes covers a single van, 450 a small salon, 1,500 a multi-groomer shop. Ask whether voicemails, hold time and spam calls count against the allowance, and what a minute costs after it runs out.
Make it book, not just answer. An agent that takes a message has moved your voicemail problem to a text. The test is whether the appointment appears in your calendar with the right duration for the breed and service, and whether a deposit can be taken when your policy asks for one.
Check the handoff and the languages. Every agent should pass a caller to a person on request with a summary of the conversation; find out whether that costs extra. If your clients speak Spanish, confirm the agent does too and what a second language costs.
Hear it before you buy. Ask for a recorded call, or call the vendor's demo line and try to book a groom for a Doodle on Tuesday. The pet-specific agents answer the price and the time; a generalist asks you to spell Doodle.
Then the ordinary checks. Per-van or per-location pricing, texting allowances, boarding and daycare if you run them, and a free import from your current system. The main roundup covers those for eight platforms.
How we compared them, and our bias
On October 28, 2026we read each vendor's own website and pricing page and recorded whether it names an AI receptionist or chatbot, how many AI minutes are included and at what overage, what other AI or automation it lists, the starting price with its unit and the trial. We did not credit a vendor with AI on the strength of a third-party article, a review site or a press release: if it is not on the vendor's site, the table says no. FetchDesk AI and Teddy were left out because neither has a public site we could read.
Groomify is our product and is listed first. AgentZap builds the receptionist we sell as an add-on, so we have a commercial relationship with it as well; it is listed as a standalone option because a MoeGo or Gingr user who wants a phone agent would buy it directly. The other six are described from their own pages. If you find a claim we have wrong, write to hello@groomify.ai and we will correct it and re-date the page.
Prices last checked October 28, 2026. Vendor AI claims and prices are from each vendor's own site on that date. How we compare.
Frequently asked questions
Which pet grooming software has an AI receptionist?
Two grooming platforms list one on their own sites: Groomify, as an add-on from $109 a month with 150 minutes, and Talopet, with 100 minutes bundled into its $199 Growth plan. MoeGo, Gingr, DaySmart Pet, Groomer.io, GrooMore, Pawfinity and PetExec list no AI phone answering as of October 28, 2026.
What is the difference between AI and automation in grooming software?
Automation runs a rule you set: send a reminder two days before, request a review after a visit, fill a cancelled slot from the waitlist. AI holds a conversation it was not scripted for: it answers a call, quotes a Doodle full groom, finds a Tuesday slot and books it. Every platform here automates; only Groomify, Talopet and the standalone receptionists converse.
How much does an AI receptionist for groomers cost?
From $99 a month for a general-purpose agent with 200 minutes (My AI Front Desk) to $109 a month for 150 pet-specific minutes (Groomify's add-on or AgentZap direct) and $199 a month for a platform with 100 minutes included (Talopet). Overage runs $0.25 to $0.85 a minute, and setup fees range from none to $499.
How many AI minutes does a grooming salon need?
A typical grooming call runs two to four minutes. A single van taking 40 calls a month uses about 120 minutes; a two-groomer salon taking 150 calls uses 400 to 500. Size the tier to your monthly call count, and check whether voicemails and hold time count against the allowance; on Talopet they do not.
Can I add an AI receptionist to MoeGo?
MoeGo has none of its own, so you would add a standalone product. AgentZap and My AI Front Desk both answer calls for any business; getting the booking into MoeGo's calendar then depends on an integration or a Zapier chain. Groomify's receptionist books natively because it is part of the same platform.
Is Groomify's AI receptionist the same as AgentZap?
Yes. AgentZap builds the receptionist and Groomify sells it as an add-on wired directly into the grooming calendar. AgentZap direct and the Groomify add-on are both $109 a month plus a $499 setup fee waived on the Professional plan with a 6-month term; inside Groomify the receptionist books straight into the grooming calendar, with all 12 languages included.
Start a 14-day trial with no card, try the AI receptionist in a chat, then put it on your phone line with a paid plan and count the bookings it catches.